Finalists of the 2022 UK OSPAs Revealed

Nov 25, 2021News

The panel of 28 independent experts from across the security industry has concluded its judging – which means it’s time to reveal the finalists of the 2022 UK Outstanding Security Performance Awards (OSPAs).

The 2022 OSPAs has attracted more submissions and greater diversity than ever before.  The judging panel faced a challenging task narrowing down the entries, to no more than 10 finalists for each category, with many very impressive nominations narrowly missing out.

“This year’s finalists exemplify the values of the OSPAs. Each one of them has demonstrated outstanding performance in an area of security, be it a company, individual, team, initiative, product or service,” said Professor Martin Gill, Founder of the OSPAs. “All those that were nominated should feel very proud that they were put forward for an OSPA; regardless of whether they have reached finalist status. The competition was very tough this year” Gill further added.

The 2022 finalist are:

Outstanding In-House Security Manager/Director – sponsored by Bidvest Noonan
Terry Branch – Imperial College
Tony Chebrika – Peel Land & Property
Ross Harvey – Fuse Systems
Leighton Jones – Savills
Bob Kirton – Barnsley Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Laurence Perkins – University of Leicester
David Salisbury – Zicam

Outstanding Contract Security Manager/Director – sponsored by Altia
Keith Denton – Corps Security
Russell Keddie – Mitie
Russel Kerr – SecuriGroup
Martin Molloy – Allied Universal
Chris Middleton – ABM UK
Daniel Pike – Carlisle Support Services
Nathan Quinn – Mitie
Jessica Spencer – FGH Security
Mark Taylor – Mitie
Seetan Varsani – Corps Security

Outstanding Security Team – sponsored by TrackTik
New Square Team – ABM UK
Shakespeare’s Globe Team – Bidvest Noonan
Capricorn Media Team – Capricorn Security Group
Gunwharf Quays Team – Incentive FM
B&Q Detective Team – Mitie
Sainsbury’s Security Operations Centre: Police & Partnership Team – Mitie
Victoria Leeds Team – Mitie
P&O Hull Team – Profile Security Services
Valero Energy Team – Profile Security Services
Covid-19 Security Team – Sodexo

Outstanding Contract Security Company (Guarding) – sponsored by Team Software
Adept Corporate Services
CIS Security
Corps Security
Dardan Security
First Response Group
Land Sheriffs
Mitie Security
Sight & Sound Security
STM Group (UK)

Outstanding Security Consultant – sponsored by CIS Security
Blackstone Consultancy
BRIM: Business Resilience International Management
Buro Happold Security Consulting
National Vehicle Threat Mitigation Unit – Counter Terror Policing HQ
Jason Gilbert – CDS Defence and Security
IJA (Ian Johnson Associates Limited)
Milne Management

Outstanding Customer Service Initiative – sponsored by Securitas
TIS-WAS Card – Barnsley Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Croma PROtouch – Croma PROception
Technical Support initiative – CSL
Voice Biometric Initiative – NatWest
Mitie & HMRC Collaboration Initiative
Project Zeal – Mitie, Co-op and Nottinghamshire Police
Sainsbury’s Security Operations Centre: Crime Intelligence Team – Mitie
Sainsbury’s Security Operations Centre – Mitie
Sentinel Helpdesk Team – Network Rail and Mitie
MTR Elizabeth Line Contract – STM Group (UK)

Outstanding Security Training Initiative – sponsored by Skills for Security
There For You Programme – Allied Universal (Europe)
Security Training Initiative – AWE Security Training Team
Virtual Reality Training – Corps Security and MOONHUB
Cybersecurity Awareness Initiative – Covea Insurance
Mental Health First Aid Training – Alan Thresher, G4S
Being Human Online Training Programme – IFPO UK and Ireland with Ethos Farm
Store Detective Accreditation – Clare Johnson & Paul Graham – Mitie
Think, Check, Act Awareness Programme – National Grids Security Awareness and Training Team
Glasgow Education Services Cybersecurity Training for Secondary Schools – Police Scotland Cybercrime Harm Prevention Team
Zitko Talent Training Programme – Zitko Group

Outstanding Security Installer/Integrator – sponsored by NSI
Accessium UK
Herongrange Group
Kings Secure Technologies
Lazerbeam Fire and Security
Mitie Fire & Security Systems
SecuriGroup Systems
Sicuro UK

Outstanding Event Security Team – sponsored by Lodge Service
G7 Summit Team – Atalian Servest
Edinburgh International Conference Centre Security Team – Croma Vigilant
Events and Festivals Team – FGH
COVID-19 Response Teams – G4S Events
Open Golf Championship 2021 Security Team – STM Group (UK)
Nightingale Hospital and Mayoral Elections Support Teams – Wilson James

Outstanding Security Partnership – sponsored by Police Crime Prevention Initiatives
Birmingham City Centre Partnership – Mitie and West Midlands Police
CDS Defence & Security; Cyber Security and Information Assurance Partnership with North Tower Consulting
City of London Police and Lloyds Banking Group Partnership
City Security Council
Civilian Guard Force & Sellafield
ECHO and National Police Chiefs’ Council
Kings Secure Technologies and Hermes UK
Mitie Project Echo Team and the Home Office
Profile Security Services and Valero Energy
Project Zeal – Mitie, Co-op and Nottinghamshire Police

Outstanding New Security Product
eAccess – Accessium UK
eCypher – Accessium UK
Essential IP – BT Redcare
GSAT Training – CAMOR
Miti-Gate®R – Cova Security Gates
MiniAir 2 – CSL Group
Adaptive Thresholds – Gallagher Security
Merlin X – Mitie
COVID-19 reporting service – Securitas Intelligence Unit
SmartTag – SmartWater/Co-op/Mitie

Outstanding Security Equipment Manufacturer – sponsored by International Security Expo/The Security Event
Accessium UK
BT Redcare
CLD Fencing Systems
Gallagher Security
IDIS Europe
Warrior Doors

Outstanding Security Officer – sponsored by Corps Security
Hasan Afzal – Atlas Security
Shona DePledge – Mitie
Dion Henry – Mitie
Gregory Ihionvien – Bidvest Noonan
Majid Khan – Westgrove Group
John Mckinnie – Mitie
Denise Phillips – Westgrove Group
Youcef Saadi – FGH Security
Paul Sanchez – Croma PROception
Carl Thomas – Mitie

Outstanding Young Security Professional – sponsored by ADS
Dominic Barratt – Warrior Doors
James Barth – Sibylline
James Bradley – Mitie
Victoria Brookes – Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games
Chloe Manners – AWE
Laurence Perkins – University of Leicester
Ana Rita Pernes – FGH Security
Daniel Pike – Carlisle Support Services
Tom Tahany – Blackstone Consultancy
Luke Toker – Churchill Group

Outstanding Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Initiative – sponsored by Assist Group and supported by the Security Commonwealth
Security D&I Collaboration – AWE
Corps Together Campaign – Corps Security
Team ICTS – ICTS UK & Ireland
Mind the Gap: Women in Security – Lloyds Banking Group
Count Me In – Mitie L & D Department
Diversity & Inclusion Team – Securitas UK
Security Institute Inclusive Security Special Interest Group ISSIG
Sodexo Women in Security
Support, Trust, Manage Vision – STM Group (UK)
Zitko Talent – Zitko Group

Lifetime Achievement – sponsored by The Security Institute
To be announced at the UK OSPAs dinner

Winners will be announced on Thursday, 24th February 2022 at a black-tie dinner to be hosted by quiz master, presenter and stand-up comedian – Paul Sinha (known by many as the ‘Sinnerman’ from The Chase) – at the Royal Lancaster Hotel London.   Places can be booked here.

A Thought Leadership Summit, organised in association with the National Security Inspectorate (NSI), will precede the awards.  The full programme will be available to view soon on the OSPAs website.

The UK OSPAs is sponsored by global software provider TEAM Software, supported by leading security associations and special interest groups – who were instrumental in nominating the judging panel to represent them.


Press contact:  Christine Brooks – 07785 569719 –

What’s the latest?

Join our brand new Security & Risk Thought Leadership Newsletter